DIY Book of Textures (sensory book)

I stumbled upon this excellent DIY tutorial to create your own sensory book.

I can picture myself using this with my clients, particularly my clients on the autism spectrum. But, I also imagine using this with clients in toddlerhood or early childhood.

According to the tutorial, here’s what you will need to construct the sensory book:

  • CD sleeves
  • 1 inch album rings
  • reinforcement labels
  • hole punch
  • double-sided tape

Here are some different materials you can use for the various textures:

  • Silk fabric
  • Leather straps
  • Snakeskin scrapbook paper
  • Plastic
  • Foam sheets
  • Fur
  • Glittery foam sheets
  • Cardboard scrapbooking sheet

 

Here’s what it will look like!

IMG_7065.jpgIMG_7067.jpgIMG_7068.jpgIMG_7066.jpgIMG_7071.jpgIMG_7069.jpg

 

I can’t wait to try this out with clients!

Leave a Reply

