Termination Art Activity: Personal Pizzas

Termination Art Activity: Personal Pizzascollagepizza1lg.jpg

It’s my last week as a Clinical Social Work Intern with children and families, which brings up termination with clients. Many of clients responded well to my nature termination activities, but I had a few clients who wanted to do something different. So, I decided we could make personal pizzas together…paper pizzas, that is!

 

 

Therapy Type: Individual, termination

Materials Needed:

  • Various colors of construction paper
  • Scissors
  • Glue sticks
  • Crayons, markers, colored pencils

Process:

I provided the client with various colors of construction paper and directed them to cut a circle for their own personal pizza. Next, I directed them to cut out their own  toppings, whether it be pepperoni, cheese, pineapple, mushrooms, etc. etc. etc.

Once all the toppings were cut out, I directed the client to write on them words and/or phrases about how they’ve grown over the course of therapy. They can write words that describe them, turning points during therapy, values, and so on.

I also shared with the client my own observations of their personal growth.

Paper-Pizza.jpg

Picture source: Huppie Mama

The client then glued their toppings onto their personal pizza. Using the metaphor of the pizza, we talked about how all the components of the pizza (toppings, cheese, sauce, crust, dough) make a unique pizza….just like how all the life experiences, personality traits, values make up one unique individual.

Here is the personal pizza I made with one of my clients:

20160426_142328

In bocca al lupo!

*Examples shown are not client work.

Leave a Reply

