DIY Travel Sand Tray

DIY Travel Sand Tray

image

One of my favorite expressive arts mediums is the sandtray.

I can’t say enough how much I love sand tray therapy.

  • It’s a sensory activity, meaning it engages our senses while we play.
  • It is a creative outlet for the inner workings of our mind.
  • It is a container for learning more about ourselves, our story, our feelings.
  • It is just downright magical to witness clients engage with the sandtray.

When I’m at the office, I have a large container filled with kinetic sand. (Kinetic sand is super cool. Definitely a must-have in my social work toolbox!) One problem though: most of the time I am in the field (school or community) for my social work. I obviously can’t bring this large container with me to schools or the community–but I really wanted to use this intervention with some of my field-based clients. This is why I created my own travel sandtray.

Materials:
Plastic pencil case
Sand (There are so many different sand you can use! Click here to read about all the options!)
Items to accompany, such as rocks and mini figurines

**Alternatively, you can purchase this storage container from Target. You will see that it is two boxes in one–which could allow for easy storage of the sand and the rocks/mini figurines.

Creation Process
1.) Open your plastic pencil case. Pour sand into it. That’s it. Really.

image

You don’t want to overfill it. In mine, I filled it about half way up. Also, mine has play sand in it.

2.) Choose a small variety of rocks or mini figurines. I prefer to bring rocks I collected at my favorite beach in California.

image

When traveling, I keep the rocks separate with a ziploc baggie or fabric pencil case.

3.) You’re ready for sandplay interventions in the field!

image

 

Here are some helpful resources for sandplay therapy interventions that I use frequently:

 

 

Leave a Reply

